合作将 Everest Mentor iQ 转变为独一无二的定制数据收集和分析解决方案:“智能内窥镜”
检测数据处理时间缩短近95%
造就可扩展的产品架构,该架构能够使数据采集始终如一,显著提高数据一致性
更加关注数据捕获和分析的人为因素

背景

一架飞机在其寿命期内平均飞行次数为2万次。这相当于6000万英里,围绕地球2400圈。 

这些飞机中有许多是靠罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司发动机推动的。尽管这些发动机在设计上是在需要最少目视检查的情况下运行,但确实出现了需要进行计划外检查的情况。这些可能是自然发生的事件,如飞鸟撞击或重着陆等;这些事件可能是由机载健康监测系统发现的,表明需要检查各种系统或组件;或者可能是由已知问题引起,这些问题归因于机队中存在的相似或相同发动机。

不管原因是什么,目视检查是确定涡轮喷气发动机内部件状况的最可靠方法。这为判断是否可以放行发动机并继续在翼安全运行提供了必要的信心。

这意味着给定的发动机必须完全停车。必须等发动机冷却到足以允许安全检修;在允许任何人开始操作发动机之前,必需准备、安装和启动安全系统。六个小时或更多时间很快就过去了,然后才能开始下一步工作——更不用说进行检查的时间和随后将发动机恢复到可操作状态所花费的时间了。 

挑战 

罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司希望找到一种方法,利用人工智能(AI)以更高效的方式生成所需的检查数据集,这种方法能够自动收集、分析数据和生成报告,同时帮助检查人员更快地做出更明智的判断。

智能发动机检查系统将减少总体检查所花费的时间,并减少可能影响检查结果的人为错误的风险。

Rolls Royce Case Study MViQ Man holding mviq

解决方案 

我们与罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司合作,为其开发了独一无二的智能内窥镜解决方案,达到了航空领域前所未有的半自动数据分析水平。

通过这种伙伴关系,我们能够创建一个系统来解决其痛点,并针对相关人员提高其在翼检查的整体质量和效率。

该智能内窥镜采用Waygate TechnologiesEverest Mentor iQ VideoProbeTMReal3D测量软件(同类产品中唯一的3D相位测量软件)以及增强的探头光学器件和定制的AI技术,不仅实现了数据采集的半自动化,还提高了数据采集的速度,以满足罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司的性能、精度和安全目标。

 

“这项技术不仅将减少了检查时间,还将通过捕获和分析所有发动机的高质量标准化数据来改善我们业务的许多方面,这些数据可以最大限度地提高我们整个机队的效率,并改进未来的设计。” — Adriano Pulisciano,罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司影像和计算机视觉专家

技术亮点

aviation plane rolls royce

结果 

凭借这种高水平的创新和合作伙伴关系,罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司能够促进数据收集,优化其检查工作,并为未来的快捷、创新、安全和成功做好准备。

利用Real3D测量软件和支持AI的自动化功能,这款全新智能内窥镜大大增加了数据采集量,同时将发动机检查时间缩短了75%,数据处理时间减少了近95%。预计在未来五年内还将为他们节省数百万的检测成本。

而且,这仅仅是开始。与Waygate Technologies合作,没人知道接下来什么将成为可能。

罗尔斯·罗伊斯公司客户故事:“智能内窥镜”

在Waygate Technologies,我们很自豪能够通过Mentor Visual IQ这些设备帮助客户获取数据并进行高级分析,一并推动孔探检测的发展。通过创新技术和产业结合,我们可以通过新技术创造出更多的价值。—— Mike Domke,常务总经理, Waygate Technologies
访问网址:waygatetechnologies.com,了解我们可以一起让什么成为可能。

Collaborated to transform Everest Mentor iQ into a one-of-a-kind custom data collection & analytic solution: The “Intelligent Borescope”
Lowered the time to process inspection data by nearly 95%
Produced a scalable product architecture that produces consistent data collection whilst dramatically improving data consistency
Increased focus on human factors for data capture and analysis

Background

An average aircraft flies 20,000 times in its lifetime. That’s the equivalent of 60 million miles, and 2,400 times around the entire world. 

Many of these aircraft are powered by Rolls-Royce engines. Although these are designed to operate with minimal need for visual inspections, circumstances do however materialize that warrant unscheduled inspections. These could be naturally occurring events such as bird strike or heavy landing etc; they could be as a result of onboard health monitoring systems that indicate a need to checks various systems or components; or they could be a function of known issues attributed to similar or same engines that exist within the installed Fleet.

Regardless of the cause, visual inspections are recognized as the most reliable method to determine the condition of components within the gas turbine. This provides the necessary confidence to sentence whether the asset can be released and continue safe operation on-wing.

This means that a given engine has to be completely shut down. It has to cool down enough to allow for safe access; and staging, tooling, and activation of safety systems are all necessary before anyone is permitted to start working on the engine. Six or more hours could easily pass before any work can begin — not to mention the time taken to conduct the inspection and return the engine to an operable condition thereafter. 

Challenge 

Rolls-Royce wanted a way to leverage Artificial Intelligence (AI) to generate the required inspection dataset in a much more efficient manner — one that enables automated data collection, analyses, and reporting while helping inspectors make more informed decisions, faster. 

The creation of an “Intelligent” Engine Inspection system would reduce overall inspection time and help alleviate the risk of human error that can impact inspection outcomes.

Rolls Royce Case Study MViQ Man holding mviq

Solution 

Together with Rolls-Royce, we developed a one-of-a-kind “Intelligent Borescope” solution just for them — enabling a level of semi-automated data analyses never before seen in aviation. 

Through this partnership, we were able to create a system to address their pain points and improve the overall quality and efficiency of on-wing inspections for everyone involved.

This Intelligent Borescope uses Waygate Technologies’ Everest Mentor iQ VideoProbeTM with Real3D Measurement — the only 3D Phase Measurement software of its kind — along with enhanced probe optics, and custom AI technology to not just semi-automate data capture, but increase it to meet Rolls-Royce’s performance, accuracy, and safety goals. 

 

“This technology will not only speed up inspection times, but also transform many aspects of our business through the capture and analysis of high quality standardized data from all of our engines, which can be exploited to maximize the efficiency of our entire fleet and improve future design.” - Adriano Pulisciano, Imaging and Computer Vision Specialist, Rolls-Royce

Technology Highlights

aviation plane rolls royce

Results 

With this high level of innovation and partnership, Rolls-Royce was able to boost data collection, optimize their inspections, and set themselves up for a future of speed, innovation, safety, and success. 

Harnessing Real3D Measurement and AI-enabled automation, this new Intelligent Borescope has massively increase data collection, while reducing aircraft engine inspection time by 75%, and the time to process this data and more by nearly 95%. It’s predicted to save them millions in inspection costs over the next five years, too. 


And this is just the beginning. With Waygate Technologies as a partner, there’s no telling what will become possible next.

Rolls-Royce Customer Story: The "Intelligent Borescope"

At Waygate Technologies, we are proud to be driving the future of inspection by delivering data, insights, and advanced analytics through connected assets such as the Mentor Visual IQ. With innovative technology and industry partnerships, we can better create value add technology to accelerate, scale, and unlock new outcomes. - Mike Domke, Executive General Manager, Waygate Technologies
Interested in optimizing your inspections?